The British Mycological Society is a registered charity (No. 276503) with the Charity Commission.

All procedures and activities of the Society are governed by the Constitution, last updated and approved by members at the AGM on 02 October 2023.

The Society is governed by the Trustees, who sit on Council and meet twice a year. Members of Council are elected according to the Constitution and ratified at the Annual General Meeting.

The Council is supported by four standing Committees: the Fungal Biology Research Committee, the Field Mycology & Conservation Committtee, the Fungal Education & Outreach Committee and the Publications Committee.

The Trustees' report and the accounts are prepared each year and presented to the membership for the AGM.