Tony Trinci Award

The British Mycological Society and The Microbiology Society together established the Tony Trinci Award to celebrate great mycology and to honour the late Professor Trinci, who was President of both societies.

Representatives from each Society meet each year to select a researcher deemed to be presenting the best mycological research at either the BMS Annual Scientific Meeting or the Microbiology Society Annual Conference. There are no restrictive criteria: all presenters irrespective of career stage will be considered. There is no requirement for the award to alternate between the two organisations - the overriding criterion will be that the science should be celebrated in honour of Tony Trinci.

Winner of the Tony Trinci Award 2024 - Seána Duggan

Tony Trinci Award 2024: Dr Seána Duggan

The Microbiology Society, together with the British Mycological Society, is delighted to announce Dr Seána Duggan of the MRC Centre for Medical Mycology at the University of Exeter, UK, as the winner of the 2024 Tony Trinci Award. Seána will give her award presentation, ‘A Copper Economy Underlies Synergy of Candida albicans and Staphylococcus aureus Dual-Species Biofilms’ at the Microbiology Society’s Annual Conference.


Read more