Benefactors' Medal

The BMS Benefactors' Medal is awarded to those persons who have given outstanding service to the Society.

Norman Porrett

Benefactors' Medal 2023: Mr Norman Porrett

Norman's receipt of the Benefactors' Medal is due to his consistent and reliable service to the BMS on many fronts. He is an unfailing source of help and support to members and BMS Council alike, and is completely reliable and efficient in all that he does. Norman's numerous activities including managing the day-to-day finances, records and storage, acting as secretariat to the BMS Council and Committees, and keeping services up to date have ensured the smooth running of the Society for many years.

Past recipients include:

  • 2023    Norman Porrett
  • 2020    David Harries and Peter Smith
  • 2018    Richard Shotbolt 
  • 2016    Geoff Robson
  • 2014    Carol Hobart
  • 2013    Stuart Skeates
  • 2011    Brian Spooner 
  • 2010    Nick Read 
  • 2009    Ek Snagvichen and Prakitsin Sihanonth
  • 2007    Gill Butterfill (BMS Archivist/Librarian)
  • 2006    Geoff M Gadd

(Recipients of the Benefactors Medal awarded prior to 1996 are listed in Prof John Webster’s Centenary Presidential Address.)

Norman Porrett - Benefactors Medal 2023







Norman Porrett accepting the Award from BMS President Janet Quinn at the BMS Annual Scientific Meeting, Newcastle.