Fungal Outreach Award

The Fungal Outreach Award is given to those making an outstanding contribution to fungal education or outreach. 

Past recipients:

  • Ali McKernan (2022)
  • Ali Ashby (2021)
  • Liz Holden (2020)
  • Lynne Boddy (2019)
  • David Moore (2016)

Ali McKernan - Fungal Outreach Award 2022









Ali McKernan (The Fungi Guy)  - winner of the Fungal Outreach Award 2022


Making a nomination

Nominations for this award can be made by any member of the Society in the form of a letter/email giving an overview of the nominees’ contribution to fungal outreach and education and including a brief biography. Nominations should be sent by email to and will be forwarded to the BMS Fungal Education & Outreach Committee for consideration.

The award will be presented at a subsequent BMS meeting or foray and may take the form of a gift or monetary award, at the discretion of the committee.