The British Mycological Society celebrates and recognises exceptional contributions to mycology and to the work of the Society through its Awards.

Open for nominations - deadline 25 June:

Award nominees may be drawn from any nation and need not be members of the BMS. Nominations must be supported by two current members of the Society.

Berkeley Award

The Berkeley Award recognises outstanding original scientific contributions to mycology by early-career researchers.
Find out more 

John Webster Award

The John Webster Award recognises outstanding contributions to fungal biology research over an extended career​​​​​​.
Find out more

Field Mycology Award

The Field Mycology Award recognises those who have contributed to the advancement of British field mycology.  Recipients will have contributed significantly to conservational, taxonomic, recording or educational activities.
Find out more

Fungal Outreach Award

The Fungal Outreach Award recognises outstanding contributions to fungal education and outreach
Find out more

Other awards


Benefactors' Medal

The Benefactors' medal is awarded to those who have given outstanding service to the Society.
More details and past recipients

President’s Award

The President’s Award is given to a distinguished mycologist, selected by the BMS President for their outstanding contribution to mycological research. 
More details and past recipients

Howard Eggins Early Career Mycologist Award

The Howard Eggins Award is given to a postgraduate student or a postdoctoral researcher within 2 years of gaining their PhD who presents the most outstanding talk or poster at the BMS Annual Scientific Meeting
More details and past recipients

Naresh Magan Lecture Award

The Naresh Magan Lecture Award is given jointly by the British Mycological Society and the International Society for Mycotoxicology to support an early-career researcher to give an oral presentation at an international conference, on a topic in the fields of fungal ecology, fungal physiology, plant pathogens or mycotoxins.
More details

Tony Trinci Award

This award is made jointly by the British Mycological Society and the Microbiology Society to a selected speaker at either society's annual scientific meeting. 
More details and past recipients

Winner of the Tony Trinci Award 2024 - Seána Duggan

Tony Trinci Award 2024: Dr Seána Duggan

The Microbiology Society, together with the British Mycological Society, is delighted to announce Dr Seána Duggan of the MRC Centre for Medical Mycology at the University of Exeter, UK, as the winner of the 2024 Tony Trinci Award. Seána will give her award presentation, ‘A Copper Economy Underlies Synergy of Candida albicans and Staphylococcus aureus Dual-Species Biofilms’ at the Microbiology Society’s Annual Conference.


Read more