John Webster Award

The John Webster Award recognises outstanding contributions to fungal biology research over an extended career, and commemorates the vast contributions of the late Prof. John Webster to mycology and to the British Mycological Society. 

Past recipients include:

  • Lynne Boddy (2023)
  • Geoffrey M. Gadd (2020/21)
  • Gero Steinberg (2018)
  • Nick Talbot (2016)

Lynne Boddy and Dan Bebber 2023








Lynne Boddy with Dan Bebber (Chair of the Fungal Biology Research Committee) at the BMS Annual Scientific Meeting, Newcastle, 2023


Making a nomination

Nominations for this award can be made by any member of the Society. Nominees should have made an outstanding contribution to fungal research and the scientific mycology community as evidenced by their publications and esteem indicators. Nominees should be proposed and seconded by two current BMS Members, supported by a brief statement and / or CV. Nominations should be sent by email to and will be forwarded to the BMS Fungal Biology Research Committee for consideration.

The winner of the John Webster Award is invited to give a lecture at the next BMS Annual Scientific Meeting, where the award will be presented. The award may take the form of a gift or monetary award at the discretion of the committee.