Field Mycology Award

The Field Mycology Award recognises those who have contributed to the advancement of British field mycology. Recipients will have contributed significantly to one or more conservational, taxonomic, recording or educational activities. This may include regularly leading field events or workshops, or writing extensively or lecturing widely about fungal conservation or identification of fungi.

Past recipients include:

  • Brian Spooner (2023)
  • Brian Douglas (2021)
  • Paul Kirk (2020)
  • The Welsh Rust Group (2019)
  • Roy Watling (2018)
  • Geoffrey Kibby (2015)

Brian Spooner








Brian Spooner, winner of the Field Mycology Award 2023


Making a nomination

Nominations for this award can be made by any member of the Society in the form of a letter/email that includes an overview of the nominee's outstanding contribution. Nominations should be sent by email to and will be forwarded to the BMS Field Mycology & Conservation Committee for consideration.

The award will be presented at a subsequent BMS meeting or foray and may take the form of a gift or monetary award, at the discretion of the committee.