Council and Committees

The overall affairs of the Society are managed by Council comprising elected Senior Officers and Ordinary Members representing the subsidiary committees. The more detailed organisation and running of the Society is organised through four committees who report back to Council. These are

All members of Council and the Committees are proposed and selected by election if necessary before being formally approved at the Annual General Meeting held towards the end of each year.

Council consists of a President elected for two years, a Vice President, President elect, General Secretary, Treasurer, Publications Officer, Overseas advisor and two members from each of the three sections of the Society, Fungal Biology Research, Fungal Education and Outreach and Field Mycology.

BMS Expenses Claim Form. pdf.gif



The Fungal Education and Outreach Committee of the British Mycological Society will have three vacancies in 2020 for voting committee members (due to the retirement of current members who have completed three years of service). BMS membership is required of postholders and we therefore invite any member with an interest in Education and Outreach to submit a short proposal for consideration as a committee member at our next AGM on September 17th 2019. If you would like any further details please do not hesitate to contact us on the email address.


Dr Eleanor Landy

(FEO Chair 2017-2019)